Always In My Head

Resounding and heavy to the heart. That is how I always feel whenever I listen to beginning guitar wails of Always in My Head. It’s a song I don’t choose to listen to, but whenever it comes playing on my long saved playlist on Spotify, I can’t help but feel an ache tug me from within no matter how you tell yourself to stay still. Memories come flashing like tides—Pulling, pushing and making you crash midway. I’ve always been a fan of Coldplay, but I only remember listening to this song for the first time when I was on the verge of a heartbreak. I guess I’ve heard it before but didn’t put that much attention to it as I did in the past. It’s one of those songs that when it plays on a certain occasion, it marks you and becomes somewhat an anthem of that “feeling”. Unfortunately, like the song, the memories and feelings attached to it are painful, yearning and as haunting as the inaudible choir of words in the beginning.

“I think of you.”

Yes. True. Until now.

Leave a Reply

